Memoirs of a Geisha

About two weeks ago I finished the book Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden (shout out to my lovely friend Jodi for letting me borrow it). In a nutshell, Memoirs of a Geisha is a novel told in first person (which I loooove) about a girl torn from her family and sold into a geisha boarding house in Gion, the most popular geisha district in Kyoto. She grows up alone, away from anything she has ever known, and forced into a life of becoming a Geisha. Her whole life is moving towards one goal, one dream. This dream is the only thing thats keeping her moving forward in life. I want to go into more detail about that, but trust me, you just need to read it.

Memoirs was beautifully written… I could almost hear each word spoken by an old Japanese woman who is quietly telling her life story and you just happen to be lucky enough to hear it. The things these young women had to go through and sacrifice to become a Geisha is really quite surprising and sad at times. It gave me a whole new perspective on what a Geisha even was. The book was so interesting and I really loved it.

I would definitely recommend this book. There is a sexual scene in the book where the young girl is forced to give up her virginity. Just be aware that it’s in there and to skip a few paragraphs. You won’t miss anything by doing so.

A few days after finishing the book I got to watch the movie that came out in 2005. Normally I am so disappointed after watching movies that I have just read books to but this wasn’t that way. I actually really liked the movie. Obviously movies can’t put all the details from the books, but I thought they did a pretty good job this time. If you aren’t into reading, at least see the movie. Even the hubby watched it with me and said it wasn’t too bad.

Oh and just for fun, these are the shoes Geisha had to wear. They are called Okobo and are worn with these weird toe sock things (those actually kinda gross me out a little haha). But those shoes are CRAZY!!! I would kill myself for sure trying to walk in these.

So what about you? Have you read anything lately that is a must-read? Please feel free to share. I love hearing what’s out there and what people are diggin’.

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

4 comments

  1. I saw the movie but I would love to read the book! I like the movie alot!

  2. Isn’t it funny that you could hear the woman’s voice as you were reading it, as it’s written from her own perspective, and it’s actually written by a man. I find that fascinating that he could write so well in a female voice. Have you read The Joy Luck Club? I read it along time ago. Another good Book/Movie combo.

Leave a Reply

