Blink

Last night I FINALLY finished “Blink” by Ted Dekker. I have been trying to get through this book since the beginning of June (wow that’s embarrassing) and last night I was determined to finally be done with it before I went to sleep. Can you tell by my tone where this post is going? Before I get into what I thought, let me give you a quick run down of what the book was about…

Seth, an absolute brilliant college student in California has the highest IQ in the country. Not only that, but he starts to see (in his mind) multiple futures depending on peoples decisions. This rare gift leads him to Miriam, a Saudi Arabian princess who has fled her country to escape a forced marriage with huge implications and consequences. Multiple parties from her homeland are racing to capture Miriam and Seth is determined to save her from not only a horrible marriage but possible torture and death.

Sounds pretty good right? A princess, mystery and an epic “runnin from the law” storyline… what’s not to love? Well sadly, it was so so boring. Up until the last 3 or 4 chapters I was doing everything I possibly could to try and engage in this book. Loved the concept, but it was slow moving. The last 3-4 chapters finally picked up and I have to admit I started to really enjoy it, but by that time I was nearly finished. So would I recommend it? Well maybe… maybe if it was the very last book on your bookshelf that you hadn’t read yet and you didn’t want to spend money on a new one (such as myself). But then and only then would I recommend it. I wish so bad I could say great read and you should go check it out, but I should be slapped in the face with a raw t-bone steak if I told you that.

If anyone has read it, I would LOVE to hear your thoughts. If not, what have you been reading? Any suggestions for future reads?

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

4 comments

  1. I read it on a trip…. It was kind of hard to get into, but I really started liking it a third of the way through. It was a good vacation read, but not the best book I’ve ever read haha!

  2. I wish… but I’m back in school so nothing but textbooks 😦 I read a few pages of Life of Pi on a trip to Flagstaff, but never finished… maybe next time I get out of town haha!

Leave a Reply

