Never Let Me Go

A few weeks ago I finished a wonderful little book entitled “Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro (try saying that name 5 times fast). I hadn’t really heard much about the book but when my friend Amanda recommended it to me, I knew I had to check it out given her impeccable taste in books.

I’m pretty miffed at myself that I let so many weeks go by without blogging about it. Now I have to try and reach in the way back of my brain and remember all the lovely little things about it. Well I guess the the first thing I should say is… I liked it. Profound, I know. It was a quick read with a story line that I knew nothing about which actually made it that much better. Because I didn’t know much about it I am struggling to tell YOU much about it. I guess all you need to know is it’s a story revolving around 3 main characters, Kathy, Ruth and Tommy. We see them grow up together in a strange boarding-type school in England and we experience their relationships with each other evolving during their childhood, teenage years and then into adulthood.

Throughout the book you get this strange feeling that something is going on in the background. You can’t quite put your finger on it and you know that it probably can’t end well but this keeps you flippin’ the pages. Well just brace yourself, *SPOILER ALERT* because it doesn’t end well. Near the end you pretty much have figured out what is going on but it’s still shocking and really quite sad. The ending scene in the book (and in the movie) was my favorite… as sad as it was, it was the perfect way to wrap it up and create a beautiful way of saying goodbye.

With that being said it as a really good read. I would recommend you add it to your list of books to read (proceed with caution, a few paragraphs with sexual content). It’s quite different but I think you’ll really like it. After reading the book the hubbs and I rented the movie. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great. It felt very slow moving. Oh and warning… you probably shouldn’t watch it with your hubbs. He might not ever let you pick out a movie to watch with him again. I’ve lost all such privileges.

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

2 comments

  1. Lost all movie priveleges?! Oh no!! Chad wasn’t a fan of the movie either, but we really can’t blame them because it took the secret of the book that builds all the suspense and put it at the beginning of the movie… I still don’t understand why they chose to do it that way.
    Have you watched the Swedish movie version of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo? Chad actually really liked it (I did too!) Beware though, the movie is doesn’t skimp on the graphic scenes from the book.

    • Amanda – I did watch The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and it was pretty good but you are right, very graphic. I haven’t seen the next two movies yet.

Leave a Reply

