I Am Number Four

Earlier this week I finished the book I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore, the pen name of authors James Frey and Jobie Hughes. I actually started the book on Saturday and couldn’t put it down in the days following. Luckily Monday was a holiday and I spent a huge chunk of that day reading this book.

It seems like I can’t stop reading young adult fiction books that are part of a series. This first book of The Lorien Legacies ranks right up there with the Twilight Saga and The Hunger Games Trilogy in my opinion (although it would still fall 3rd on the list). This series, partially similar to The Hunger Games, falls in the sci-fi category and I was actually surprised I enjoyed it considering the category. I really haven’t read any sci-fi like this, so maybe this was a great way for me to break the ice.

I Am Number Four, like I already said, is the first book of The Lorien Legacies which is a series about a group of 9 teens who have been sent to earth from their home planet Lorien, during it’s destruction, in the hopes of keeping their race alive. Lorien was destroyed by the Mogadorians, another race of aliens, who have followed the 9 to earth and are hunting them down one by one.

This first book starts out with the death of Number Three and we find out that these 9 teenagers can only be killed in order of sequence.When one is killed a distinguishing scar appears on the others indicating how many of their own have been killed. At the start of the book you understand that now these Mogadorians are now after Number Four.

Through out the book we learn more about Number Four. His past life on Lorien, what happened to his family, why the 9 were sent, etc. We also learn that the longer these Mogadorians take to kill off the 9, the stronger these special 9 become and their powers, called Legacies, begin to surface.

Now I don’t want to give too much away, because I want to keep it a surprise for you. But overall, I think it was a great read and I would definitely recommend it. For being a young adult book, I was surprised at the frequency of the “not-so-bad” swear words throughout the book. It wasn’t over the top, but it was definitely more than the other series of books I had mentioned earlier. Besides that, the  books were very clean.

Last night my hubby was kind enough to take me to see the movie. I was shocked that the movie came out so quickly after the book release. I’m not sure that was a smart move considering the books fanbase is still growing. I think if they would have waited 4-6 more months their movie sales would have done even better. BUT on the other hand, it was SO nice to be able to finish the book and go right out and see the movie. As always, the book was better than the movie but I thought they did a really good job. It had it’s cheese-ball moments, but nothing like the first Twilight movie. This movie was pretty legit. Plus I was SO excited to see Dianna Agron from Glee in ths movie. She is so darn cute!

Now I will start the long waiting process for the next book in this series to come out. According to wikipedia the sequel is to be continued in The Power of Six, set to be released August 23, 2011 and focus on Number Seven. I’m already counting down the days.

If you’ve read the book or scene the movie, I’d love to hear your thoughts. So go ahead… comment away and let’s get talking!

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

One comment

  1. Bookmarked, I really like your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

