On Strike For Christmas

Last week I finished up a fun little Christmas read called “On Strike for Christmas” by Sheila Roberts. This was my very first Christmas book I’ve ever read. Honestly, I never really thought about finding some Christmas reads, but this one was given to me so I thought I’d give it a shot.

The story revolves around a group of women who are frustrated by all the work they put into Christmas without their families help or appreciation. So as a result, they go on strike. They tell their husbands and families that they are taking Christmas off and aren’t doing anything… no decorating, baking, shopping, planning, etc. If they want to have Christmas… THEY will have to take care of everything.

It’s actually really funny reading about these husbands doing the shopping, baking, and party planning. The catastrophes they get themselves into will keep you laughing as you read. And through out the story, you go back and forth from cheering on the women, to routing on the guys.Β It was definitely a fun read and the ending was super cute.

I ended the book realizing how much I really appreciate all the wonderful Christmas’ my mom has made happen in our family. Without her, we would be toast. Her holiday baking, decorating, and amazing Christmas morning stockings and surprises have always made the season so special. It’s definitely a mom thing and I’m so thankful for all she does during the holidays.

If you are looking for a quick, easy-to-read Christmas book within the next few days, I would recommend this one. And if you’ve read other Christmas books, tell me about them! I’ll need recommendations for next year. Happy reading!

P.S. This book has a cat on the cover, BUT DON’T BE ALARMED! Cats are not part of the plot of this book. If they were, I would have burned the book. πŸ™‚

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

2 comments

  1. I read this book last Christmas. Loved the way Sheila Roberts writes. I’ve since read 2 more of her books: Bikini Season (with my book club) & her new Christmas book, The Snow Globe. I’ve also gotten to “know” the author on Twitter, and she offered to call in to my book club & do a live chat when we discuss her book! So now, I like her even more! πŸ™‚

    • Star – Wow that is way cool! Just hearing that makes me like her more too! Thanks for suggesting the other books too. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas AND birthday. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

