Water for Elephants

Last weekend I finished up the book Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. I’ve had this book on my list to read for quite some time now and I was so happy to finally get around to reading it.

I was a little leery considering this book revolves around a traveling circus… and with the circus come cl***s. Those of you who know me, know that I am NOT a fan of cl***s. They totally freak me out due to a torturous class on fire safety in the 3rd grade. But we’ll save that for another post… this is about Water for Elephants.

The book revolves around Jacob, a now 90-something year old man waiting to die in a nursing home. Throughout the book he reflects and remembers the year he was 21 during The Great Depression. He was weeks away from graduating college as a veterinarian when his parents died in a car accident. Shaken from being left all alone and with no home or job to go to, he ran off, jumped on a train and found himself joining the circus. There is suspense, romance, humor and tragedy in Water for Elephants and the ending was so surprisingly funny. If you read it, it will definitely leave you smiling as I was.

Sara Gruen had researched everything about traveling life for circus workers in the depression era and made this setting come alive. She shows you that this circus world is full of craziness, fun and a whole new set of rules to live by. As fun as that part of the book was to read, I was very disappointed in how much sexual content was in this book. I found myself skipping sets of paragraphs about 3 times through out the book. With that in mind, I would only recommend this book to mature readers. And don’t worry, they hardly mentioned cl***s at all in the book, so I made it through safely. 🙂

Oh!! And while reading Water for Elephants, I found out that they are releasing it as a movie  next year! The main characters will be played by Reese Witherspoon and Robert Pattinson. I can’t wait to (hopefully) check it out. Here’s the trailer if you are interested:

If you have read Water for Elephants or are currently reading anything, share it with me! I would love to hear your comments and/or get some new recommendations.

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

2 comments

  1. Timothy Aaron

    Ok, reading a book that involves cl***s and watching a movie about cl***s, that’s two completely different levels of engagement. Are you sure you’re up for that?

Leave a Reply

