Next Generation Leader

As a staff here at Mesa First, we all read Next Generation Leader by Andy Stanley. Let me just say, I LOVE that we read books together as a staff. It is WAY cool that my boss invests in us that way. If you are leading any type of team, I would recommend doing the same. The discussions we had after reading this book was so valuable.

If you are looking for a book to give you practical steps to take in your leadership, this is what you need to read. It’s guaranteed to stretch you to be the best leader possible, no matter what industry you’re in.

I’ll just share one of the many little snippets that stuck out to me in this book…

“But dreaming requires courage. For on the heels of every dream is the demon of doubt. No sooner have we latched on to a preferred future than our minds are suddenly filled with all the reasons it won’t work. We find ourselves really wondering if we are up to the task. And if we are courageous (or foolish) enough to share the dream with others, they are generally quick to confirm our suspicions.”

First, this is so true, when you dream huge God-sized dreams for your life there ALWAYS is this little doubt in the back of your mind that’s whispering “yeah right, like that could ever happen.” At least that’s true for me anyway. I feel like when I dream about what could be, it’s always a nice little thought but then I fall back into reality. The realist in me says it’s not possible and that I can’t do it. But if I would just shut up a minute and remember the HUGE God that I serve and the promise He has made me, that ALL things are possible with Him on my side (Mark 10:27), then I would start living with a whole new confidence in those dreams. But the key is this: Me on my own = NOT possible. WITH the creator of the universe = totally possible. It’s not by my strength, it’s by HIS.

Second, I never EVER want to be someone who shoots down others dreams and causes them to doubt in themselves OR in the God who has given them that dream. If someone is brave enough to come to me and share a dream they have for their life, I want to be the BIGGEST cheerleader and encourager they have ever known.

Man, as I’m writing this, I’m looking back over the little parts I highlighted in this book. It’s reminding me and challenging me (again) on so many things. Definitely go out and read it. It’s worth the money.

If you have read Next Generation Leader, I would LOVE to hear your thoughts. If you haven’t read it, either share some leadership lessons you’re learning or maybe a dream you have for your life. I promise I’ll be here to cheer you on. 🙂

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

2 comments

  1. Abelseth

    Awesome post Jenna, I love the passion u have, and everyone can see it just by talkin to u, that means a lot.

Leave a Reply

