Primal

Primal by Mark Batterson

Over the last month I’ve been reading “Primal” by Mark Batterson. It took me a little longer than usual to get through this book, mostly because there was SO much good, challenging and thought provoking information that I had to set it aside after each chapter and chew on it.

Man, it’s almost hard for me to review this in 1 blog post because there was quite a bit of “golden nuggets” that I’d love to talk about. But overall, let me just say it’s REALLY good. I couldn’t help but look at my own life and my own primal love for God after each section I read.

As I read through “Primal”, I kept a journal of the things that stuck out to me the very most… The things that I HAD to remember and/or work on in my own life. As you go through Primal, definitly consider doing the same thing. Out of all the things I wrote down, I’ll share one with you.Ā It was somewhere in the first half of the book that I read it and then re-read it, and then re-read it again. And then after that, I HAD to write it down:

“What makes you glad or sad or mad? What puts a holy smile on your face? What causes your spirit to sob uncontrollably? What makes you pound your fists on the table out of righteous indignation? Somewhere in the mixture of that gladness, sadness, and madness is your God-ordained passion.”


I think there are a lot of people who aren’t aware of what their passion is. The few sentences above are a perfect formula to find out exactly what that is. If you are one of those people who aren’t sure what you’re passionate about, think about what makes you mad, sad or glad… What keeps you up at night? What makes your heart break? What gets your blood boiling? Somewhere in the midst of all that I truly believe you can find not only what your passion is, but what God is calling you to do.

I know for me, one thing that gets my blood boiling is churches using ugly unimaginative graphics haha! I can’t stand it. The church should be the ultimate creative place because we serve an INCREDIBLY creative God. So when I see churches who don’t have the means or funds to invest in this area, my blood boils a little. And that is exactly why I do what I do.

That’s just one of many many things God showed me through Primal. Again, it’s a great book and I would highly recommend you read it and let me know what ya think. If you have read it, I would love to hear your thoughts as well.

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

Leave a Reply

