Cheeseburger Chill Smoothie

Call me a geek, but YES, I am blogging about this…

If you don’t get Jamba Juice email notifications then you missed one of the best marketing strategies to hit the email world. Lately I’ve been thinking and trying to strategize on how exactly to get people to click the link to your website or open up and read the rest of something you might otherwise had classified as “junk mail”. Most people delete those “special deal” emails or throw junk mail away without a second glance. But how do you make it something where they need to find out more? Well Jamba Juice just totally suckered me in and showed me one way how. By doing something that was over-the-top unbelievable.

Yesterday afternoon I got this email from Jamba:

DISGUSTING

Ok… a Cheeseburger Chill Smoothie!? You have got to be kidding me. The picture of the smoothie alone made me want to vomit. I saw this and HAD to find out if they were really going to try and sell this crazy smoothie. And right when I clicked the link, they had me. They suckered me right in.

Once you click the link this is what comes up:

I’m sorry, but I think that is BRILLIANT. I love how they are blatantly making fun of McDonald’s for now selling smoothies. Plus they included a coupon for being “in on the joke”. Haha! That is great. The coupon is pretty funny too as it declares “In celebration of not doing the Cheeseburger Chill Smoothie”. And yes, I WILL go and use that coupon and reward them for their brilliant marketing.

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

2 comments

  1. midlfig

    That is brilliant – and thank you for blogging about it… I didn’t key the email I was sent because it sounded so gross. I applaud their creativity.

Leave a Reply

