The Girl Who Played With Fire

I just wrapped up reading the “The Girl Who Played With Fire” by Steig Larsson. This was the second book in the trilogy. The first one, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, I reviewed a few months ago. I definitely enjoyed the first book a lot, but this second one blew the other one out of the water. As far as the “crime & detectiveness” the first one was a bit better. But the thing I LOVED about this one and what made it so much better than the first, is the character development. The main character, Lisbeth Salander, is this dark closed off young woman who you have these pre-conceived notions about, but as the story unfolds you learn all about her past and the horrific events she’s lived through. And even though she is this dark character who has her own set of rules and morals she lives by, you can’t help but love her. She is heroic, brave, and definitely crazy. Just like the first book, there is some adult language and sexual situations, so proceed with caution.

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

3 comments

  1. Thanks for the insight. I haven’t yet started the Trilogy, but it is definitely on my reading list. I bought the first book a couple of weeks ago, but I was also shocked to see that TGWTDT has already been made into a movie!

    How fast the hollywood sharks snap up popular meat! Be interesting to see how that develops too!
    Best wishes,
    Socialpaws

    • Socialpaws – Let me know when you’ve read them. I’d love to hear what you think! Regarding the movie, I’ve heard it’s really really good, so I’m excited to check it out.

  2. I very nearly bought the movie Jena! But then I didn’t want to spoil it all before I read the book.
    I’ll def review the trilogy when I get round to them, still trying to finish The Guardian by Nicholas Sparks..but loved his book ‘The Notebook ‘which is far better I think.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

