Little Bee

Just finished reading “Little Bee” by Chris Cleave. Let me start with telling you how much of a sucker I am. I’ve never heard of this book, so when I saw it sitting on the little shelf at Barnes & Noble I decided to read the blurb on the back. And this, my friends, is what it said:

“We don’t want to tell you what happens in this book. It is a truly special story and we don’t want to spoil it. Nevertheless, you need to know just enough to buy it, so we will just say this:

This is the story of two women. Their lives collide one fateful day, and one of them  has to make a terrible choice, the kind of choice we hope you never have to face. Two years later, they meet again-the story starts there…”

What the crap is that all about? I couldn’t handle NOT knowing more so I bought it and fell for their ploy to get you to buy their book. Arg. I hate it when I’m a sucker.

The book was a quick little read and it was enjoyable (I recommend only for adults due to some language and adult situations). It revolves around two women who meet. One is a 16-year old Nigerian refugee and one is a well-off British magazine editor. Just like it says above, their worlds collide one day and they don’t see each other until 2 years later. Over those two years, their lives have completely changed because of that one day. And that is all I’m going to say. So BOOYA!

Ok, not really, because I have to touch on one thing that has stuck to me from this book without going into too many details.

Small Spoiler Alert!

One of the characters in this book is named Andrew. Andrew has tried and tried to burry something deep inside of him. Something that is a heavy heavy weight that he carries around with him every single day. This weight involves regret and shame and he has allowed this to haunt him and dictate who he is. Eventually he kills himself because he has convinced himself that he cannot escape it.

Man… that kills me. It kills me because I’m reminded that there are so many people around me that are struggling with the same exact thing. It’s easy to hide something, to just burry it inside of you and pretend like it’s not there anymore. It’s easy in the beginning, but slowly, it becomes a heavy weight that you end up carrying around with you and it can destroy you.

There is so much power in the spoken word. I read this story and I just think, if Andrew would have just spoke it out, spoke it to his wife, to his friend, and most importantly, to God, so much healing and redemption could have taken place. He could have been free. He could have felt that weight being lifted off of his shoulders. And trust me, that is one amazing feeling!

If you have something you are burying inside of you, speak it out, DO it. Don’t let it eat you alive. Don’t let it defeat you. Start by speaking it out to the one person who can free you from it and begin to restore you.

Matthew 11:28-30
28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear and the burden I give you is light.”

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

Leave a Reply

