The Time Traveler’s Wife

Last week I finished reading The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I first heard about the book when I saw the preview for the movie. LOVED the preview and I specifically chose NOT to see the movie because I wanted to read the book first. Unfortunately I didn’t love the book. I loved the basic time traveling concept and how “love conquers all time boundaries” (haha I feel like that should be a line in a cheesy 80’s love song). But this book is definitely NOT appropriate for young readers due to the sexual content. The story was good, but there was soooo much sexual content that I felt, it really took away from the story. Sorry, but I don’t need to read when they did it, where they did it and how they did it to understand that they are a very happily married couple who can’t keep their hands off eachother. So if you are planning on reading it… all I would say is read with caution and be prepared to skip a couple sections. As far as the movie goes, even though I’ve heard from multiple people that it wasn’t that great, I’m still planning on checking it out (thank God it’s PG-13, not R as I would have expected after reading the book).

If you read it, I would love to hear your thoughts…

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

2 comments

  1. Heather Sanchez

    I was GOING to read the book but eh… I think I’ll skip it, now! That stuff grosses me out 🙂 haha
    I decided against seeing the movie because I read reviews on every movie and this movie said it shows the mans butt a lot throughout the movie and I opt out of the nudity movies 🙂
    Great post

    • Good call on opting out. There’s plenty of other great books out there! And thanks for the heads up about the movie. Why can’t they just leave it out of the movie? No tushy please!

Leave a Reply

