4 Years of Married Goodness

4 Years ago at this exact time, I was sitting in a dark gymnasium in the middle of our wedding reception listening to Jeff Kossack give his best man’s speech. Why a dark gymnasium you might ask? Well a 4 square mile radius power outage hit Mesa for about an hour and we were smack dab in the middle of it. But really… I didn’t care one little bit. Probably because I was officially married to the most amazing guy in the world and I was wearing a big white pretty dress (see above). haha!

I can’t believe it’s been 4 years already, my how time flies by! It’s been the funnest and craziest 4 years of my life. I have learned and experienced so much since I’ve been married. I’ve learned insane amounts of patience, how to choose my battles (like NOT getting crunk about the socks scattered about the bedroom floor haha!), and taken one step further in learning what it really means to love. But I want to take a second and share the BIGGEST thing I’ve learned these past 4 years. Even if you are married, soon-to-be married, or single, take it and apply it immediately… seriously.

Travis and I are totally busy people. We love to throw ourselves completely into what God has called us to do and we thrive off the “busy-ness”. But sometimes we got so caught up in “work” that we forgot to take care of ourselves and our relationship. About a year ago (yes, it took us 3  years to learn this haha), we started taking a mandatory sabbath. Monday’s became our official “untouchable” day. We don’t answer the phone, we don’t check email, we don’t do ANYTHING work related. Not only that, but we also go out on a date and invest in each-other and our relationship. Sometimes we go to a movie, sometimes dinner, sometimes a Suns game, and other times we just relax at home and veg. This past year that we’ve been doing this has been amazing! I’ve never felt more refreshed physically and spiritually. And it’s been amazing for our marriage. Let 6 days of the week be filled with go, go, go, go, go… but then on that 7th day relax and refresh. In the beginning it’s  hard and it takes work to actually force yourself NOT to work, but it really is worth it.

So that’s it, that’s my lil’ advice. Big shout out to my incredible hubby, Travis Clark. I love you so much and I’m so thankful to be on this crazy journey with you. Can’t wait to see what the next 4 years hold!

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

One comment

  1. Jeff

    SHOO SHOO BOO!

Leave a Reply

