The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Just finished reading “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” by Stieg Larsson. Picked up this book a few months ago when I had gotten a Barnes & Nobel gift card for my birthday. I LOVE books and when I have a gift card it takes me FOREVER to pick out exactly which book I want to spend it on. This book, however, was a complete impulse selection. I really didn’t know too much about it, but the mystery-ness caught my attention. I ended up grabbing it at the last-minute and gave it a shot.

The book revolves around a journalist, Mikal, and his assistant, Sanders, who is hired to write a chronicle of the Vanger family and at the same time, secretly try to solve the case of a missing family member from almost 40 years prior. This book is not appropriate for all readers, so proceed with caution. There is rape involved as well as some sexual content.

The thing that struck me the most about this book (besides the well crafted mystery of the missing girl) was the character of Sanders. This girl had an incredibly hard exterior. She never let anyone into her life. Through out the book there were hints that she had gone through something terrible as a child (which I think is addressed in the sequel) and as a result was a closed-off, angry person.

This wasn’t a Christian book, so there was no redeeming power of Christ at the end. And at the end, that’s all I wanted for this girl, Sanders! I wanted her to experience the forgiveness and love of Christ. And this just reminded me of how much I want people in the world who are lost, hurting, and have so much anger built up, to experience the freedom in Jesus’ forgiveness and love. But most likely, they won’t find it on their own. It’s MY job to show them that love. After reading this, I was motivated even more to go out into the world, not just stay in my little Christian bubble, and share that love of Christ.

// God – help me to SHOW people YOUR love on a daily basis. Continue to break my heart for people who are lost and who are trying to fill that void in their life with everything else, but You. Help me not to miss one opportunity //

So back to the book… it was a good read (but like I said before, proceed with caution, definitely some mature content in there). It did keep me turning the pages though. The very very ending was a little disappointing, but I think they did that to get you to read the next in the series, “The Girl Who Played With Fire”. I’m still undecided if I want to read it or not. Guess we’ll see…

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

Leave a Reply

