Friday Night Reflections – The Wifey’s Version

So my hubby always does some kind of “Friday Night Reflection” on his blog after our weekly Transit* services (to find out more about Transit*, click here). I absolutely LOVE that he does this. It’s a great way to look back and see how God moved during the service and to celebrate the “wins”. This past Friday was Good Friday and we had one intense service. I haven’t been able to get it off my mind actually. So I decided I would share with you MY Friday night reflection and one thing God showed me through-out the service.

The theme we wove through-out the service was “overcome”. And one cool element that we included this past Friday was a “cardboard testimonies” video. We had people from Transit* agree to come shoot a video and share their testimonies through phrases on a piece of cardboard. On one side of the cardboard it said what they dealt with or who they were before Christ, then they flipped the piece of cardboard over and it said what they are now. It was all based on how God helped them “overcome”. We played the video during an interlude in the song “Overcome” that the Transit* band was playing. IT WAS SO POWERFUL! After watching the video, I stopped to think of all the things that God has helped me overcome in my own life. I kept asking myself what would my piece of cardboard say?

Looking back, one area that God helped me overcome was dealing with purpose in my life. The last year and a half of High-school and even some months after I graduated, I really struggled with what direction God wanted me to take in my life. It was hard for me to see what I was “good at”. For a while I really thought I had no talents or “giftings”. I KNEW God had a plan for my life but I just could not figure it out. I had no idea what route He wanted me to take or what “use” I was to Him and building His kingdom.  It wasn’t until God called me to the desert (aka Illinois) and got me completely out of my comfort zone that my eyes started being opened to what God designed me to do. Since then, graphic design has been a core part of who I am and the ministry God has called me to serve in. But before I could learn that, God had to get me out of comfort zone where I had to completely rely on him.

With all that being said, my cardboard testimony would be: “Felt worthless and uncertain” “A life full of His purpose and passion”.

So what about you? What would YOUR cardboard testimony say? Think about it while you check out the video:  Transit* Cardboard Testimonies from Transit* College Ministry on Vimeo.

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

2 comments

  1. hey Jena!

    I am just so excited for what you and your husband are up to! Cardboard testimonies are so powerful! My church does this for each Baptism that we have. I actually got to photograph the last ‘Bash’ we had … the website to view these shots is listed above. Anyway … hope you’re doing well 🙂

Leave a Reply

