These is My Words

This past week I finished the book, “These Is My Words” by Nancy E. Turner. I had gotten the book for my birthday from my wonderful family-in-law. Kim, my mom-in-law, specifically picked it out for me and let me know it was one of her all time favorites. Honestly, I was a little skeptical going in. From the summary on the back of the book, I was a little hesitant. The words “pioneer woman” made me immediately think snooze-fest. But Kim has ALWAYS picked out amazing books for me to read, so I totally trusted her.

The book is a diary of a woman named Sarah Anges Prine. Overall the diary spans 20 years of her life. So by the end, you literally have grown up with her. The story is about her trials in the Arizona Territory, from her teenage years all the way into motherhood. She is a strong woman from the beginning with a deep desire to learn. She is courageous and continues to persevere through many heartbreaking and scary trials. Her relationship with a man named Jack will make you go crazy, but at the same time, still love and cheer for them.

I had never read a book in a diary format and I loved it! If felt so intimate and personal. Overall, great book. Easy to read. I laughed and cried (nothing new there), and it definitely is a re-read.

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

Leave a Reply

