People of the Book

A few months ago I read finished up a book called People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks. I hate to admit it, but it’s a book I probably never would have picked out to read, but my friend Jodi handed it over and let me borrow it for months on end. I actually had never even heard of it before but after a going a while with nothing to read, I decided to give it a shot.

Now it’s been almost two months since I read it, so my opinion isn’t “hot off the press”, but I’ll say it was good. …Yeah… That’s all I got… it was good. It felt like a slower moving book that I  almost had to force myself to keep reading. The thing I did like about People, was how it was broken up into many sections following the personal stories surrounding the Haggadah throughout history. So in essence, it was a book about a book. Some of the sections I definitely liked better than others. Just as I was really getting into a certain storyline the book would shift gears and introduce all new characters leaving me hanging. There was one central storyline that was woven throughout the book, but even that one felt lacking to me. I wasn’t emotionally connected to anyone even though I probably should have been (and usually am, even in the cheesiest of books).

Like I said before, it was good. If you’ve had it sitting on your bookshelf for some time and haven’t read it yet, it’s worth checking out. I know a lot of people absolutely loved it, so you might be one of those wierdos. :) If you already have read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

About Jena Clark

Christ Follower. Graphic Designer. Coffee Addict. Suns Fanatic.

2 comments

  1. My sister got this book for me as a birthday gift and I still haven’t picked it up to read yet…..I am not sure if it’s something I will like. I like historic fiction and I like books with an Egypt feel but I’m just not sure that this is something I will read but who knows….maybe I will pick it up this summer :) Thanks for the thoughtful review! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

